Why I’m a Yoga convert

Yoga is exercise for people who don’t necessarily like exercise.

Today I completed the “30 Days of Yoga” challenge by Yoga with Adriene, and consequently I have transformed into a Yoga Guru *queue crow pose*. Admittedly I didn’t complete it in 30 days (try triple that) but I did stick to it, not out of obligation but due to the sense of peace and relaxation that yoga gives you.

I was drawn to the videos due to the idea of a “challenge” but I stayed due to the brilliance of the teacher, Adriene and her cleverly constructed routines and obvious love for yoga.

A lot of people like the idea of yoga but few will try their hand at it. There is sometimes a stigma attached to yoga that it there is not much it besides deep breathing and tree hugging or Earth loving. In actual fact, yoga is what you want it to be and will benefit you as you want it to.

For me, yoga was about finding peace during periods of stress and taking some time for myself, as well as increasing my fitness and flexibility.

Now I can happily say I achieved my goals, as yoga is something that I look forward to doing and, even as someone who is prone to laziness, doesn’t feel like exercise in the conventional sense. It actually makes me feel more motivated to exercise in other ways.

This is because focus is put on posture, breathing and listening to your body (as cheesy as that sounds) to build strength, rather than struggling through punishing regimes.

I’m now a believer that yoga can improve both your physical and mental health, and I highly recommend it to people who need relaxation in their life.

The project is perfect for beginners as your skills are slowly built up over the days. You are invited to tailor it to yourself by tweaking the moves, which cover a whole range of yoga basics, teaching you to enjoy and notice the smallest of movements. The best part was that I didn’t even have to leave my room. The videos are on Youtube, and you can follow this link to start the journey yourself: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXU591OYOHA.

Leave a Reply

