Why Birmingham is a great city.

Zombies marched through the city of Birmingham today, but instead of running and screaming, members of the public smiled and laughed as they captured images of the half dead. A fair collection of people grabbed makeup and fake blood in order to take part in the zombie walk, to raise money for Birmingham Children’s Hospital.


It was witnessing this eccentric and heartfelt event that made me feel inclined to share my city with WordPress.

I grew up living a short train ride away from the second biggest city in the UK, and I have finally realised its brilliance after spending a year in Sheffield for University.

As a charity street fundraiser based in Birmingham, I get to see the city almost every day. I’ve noticed that that place is home to such a wonderfully diverse range of people, and I’ve met many interesting characters.

Maybe as I’m now in the industry, I’ve realised that charity is at the heart of the home of the famous bull. Without fail there are always street fundraisers roaming the streets, trying to raise money for their cause.

Today was something a little different, as those ranging from babies to adults became zombies showed us all how important it is we support our hospitals and, more precisely, the most vulnerable people in our society.

The commitment to this role was heartfelt, as those taking part lunged disjointedely at passers by, guttural noises sputtering from their mouths.

A little research has shown me that this Zombie walk is in its 7th year, and tickets to join the undead mass were 5 pounds, and makeup sets were also.

Alongside this, you could text the word “zomb88” with a £2, £5, £10 or £20 to 70070. Or even donate online.

With street preachers, performers, petitions, fundraisers and big issue sellers thrown into the mix, there’s never a dull moment in the heart of the Midlands.



I own the right to these images, as all of them are my own.

Leave a Reply

